Sorry, not sorry.

1. I Go After What I Want

Too often, women who go after what they want are classified as being overly ambitious or too aggressive. Commonly accepted qualities usually associated with men.For a woman to be a go-getter is suggesting, she cares only about her acquired success while having little to no concern for others. Women are supposed to be nurturers and caregivers, not hungry for fulfillment. Right!? This couldn’t be further from the truth. I go after what I want because I know what I deserve, I expect more out of myself, and I acquire more to have more to give.

2. I Get Stuff Done

I’m not the girl who waits to be invited to the table. While you’re wondering if you should politely ask for the opportunity, I’ve already seated myself and fixed myself a plate. I enjoy checking things off my list and seeing the fruits of my labor. I also believe I can be an example for young girls to step up to the plate. Not because of being a girl and having to prove your worth, but because you know you can get the job done better than anyone else.

3. I Set Standards

I never understood why a decisive woman was always considered a difficult woman. If I know being cooped up in a car for more than 8hrs. to travel anywhere, will cause me to be irritable. Why would I agree to your road trip? I’ll fly. If I were invited to a BBQ that doesn’t fit my dietary lifestyle, why would I not pack my own food in my purse? (Yes, I’m that girl.) If talking only to men who match the same drive as mine, makes me picky, I will wear that badge with honor. I work hard to enjoy my way of life and I have grown to learn about my likes & dislikes. To bend at the will of anything thrown my way and pressured to happily accept, negates all the effort and energy spent cultivating a woman who respects herself and her time.

4. I Have My Own Thoughts

I will not agree to the common consensus because everyone thinks it sounds logical. I want to explore all angles, come to a sound reasoning based off critical thought and discussion. Sometimes this means I will not agree with the most popular opinion and it definitely means I won’t win every battle. What I do know is open dialogue gives a voice to the often unheard, creates a space for enlightened conversations, and helps everyone in the room grow.

5. I Have Attitude

If I’m talking about something really important, there is usually passion in my delivery. This is often confused with, an attitude. I believe firmly in my statements, thoughts and opinions.This is what sets me apart. It represents what I’ve gone through, and made it out alive. It reveals the fight and emotion in me. It shows I stand for something and I hold firm to my truth. It has nothing to do with you and everything to do with the fire burning bright in me. I speak my mind every chance I get because I once, allowed myself to be a doormat. Because I didn’t like how that felt. Because I promised myself I would never feel that way again. Because I keep my promises…and you will always know my true thoughts on a subject. Because this allows you to learn more beautiful parts of me, and gives me the room to be bolder.